Register of Deeds > Fees
$21.00For recording deeds, mortgages, or other instruments of writing, for first page (not to exceed legal size page, 8 1/2" by 14")(includes technology Fee for ROD, County Clerk and Treasurers office)
$17.00 For second page and each additional page or fraction thereof (includes technology fee for ROD, County Clerk and Treasurers offices)
$32.00 Recording town plats, for each page, that has to be stored in the plat cabinet.
$20.00 Recording releases or assignment of real estate mortgage (includes technology fee for ROD, County Clerk and Treasurers offices)
$4.00 for second page and each additional page or fraction thereof for a mortgage release or mortgage assignment (includes technology fee for ROD,
County Clerk and Treasurers offices)
$13.00 Certifying any instrument of record
$12.50 Acknowledgment of signature
$32.00 Filing notices of tax liens under the Internal Revenue laws of the United States (fee includes a $5.00 U.C.C. filing fee provided by K.S.A. 79-2617)
$32.00 For filing releases of tax liens, certificates of discharge, under the Internal Revenue laws of the United States or the revenue laws of the State of Kansas filed both prior to and after the effective date of this act
$17.00 For filing liens for materials and services under K.S.A. 58-210, and amendments thereto
$5.00 K.S.A. 60-2201 - Lis Pendens
$1.00 K.S.A. 79-2616d - Copy of tax lien (per page)
No fee shall be charged or collected for any filing made by like department of revenue as required under the provisions of the Kansas inheritance tax act, and amendments thereto.
All fees enumerated in this section, except those charged for the filing of liens and releases of tax liens under the internal revenue laws of the United States, shall be due and payable before the Register of Deeds shall be required to do the work. If the Register of Deeds fails to collect any of the fees provided in this section, the amount of the fees at the end of each quarter shall be deducted from the register's salary.
If the name or names of the signer or signers or any notary public to any instrument to be recorded are not plainly typed or printed under the signatures affixed to the instrument. The Register of Deeds shall charge and collect a fee of $1.00 in addition to all other fees provided in this section. KSA 28-115
If sufficient space is not provided for the necessary recording information and certification on a document, such recording information shall be placed on an added sheet and such sheet shall be counted as a page. The document shall be of sufficient legibility so as to produce a clear and legible reproduction thereof. If a document is judged not to be of sufficient legibility so as to produce a clear and legible reproduction, such document shall be accompanied by an exact copy thereof which shall be of sufficient legibility so as to produce a clear and legible reproduction thereof and which shall be recorded contemporaneously with the document and shall be counted as additional pages. The Register of Deeds may reject any document which is not of sufficient legibility so as to produce a clear and legible reproduction thereof.
UCC CHANGES EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2001:
July 1, 2001, the Kansas law concerning UCC filings changed. Senate Bill 366:Revised Article 9 went into effect. The new statute is KSA-84-9-101 et seq. Under Revision Article 9, financing statements covering consumer goods will be filed in the office of the Secretary of State.
As a result of this change only financing statements covering fixtures, timber to be cut, and as-extracted oil, gas, and other mineral are filed with the Register of Deeds in the county where the land is located. All other financing statements will be filed at the office of the Secretary of State
To be perfected you should file all financing statements, except for fixture filings pertaining to real estate, with the Secretary of State's office and not with the Register of Deeds. If you send the UCC to a Register of Deeds Office with the correct filing fee, it will be filed with no questions asked. The new law makes it the responsibility of the secured party to be perfected or secured. The Register of Deeds Office can only reject for a few reasons, and a wrong place of filing is not one of them. If consumer goods are sent to counties for filing instead of the Secretary of State's office, the filing will not be rejected.
Please seek legal advice or try to obtain a copy of the Revised Article 9, which may be found on the Secretary of State's web site. Go to the Links & Forms link on the Register of Deeds site to go to the Secretary of States UCC division for national forms and information on filing. There are many new definitions, forms, and procedures. You MUST use the new forms beginning July 1, 2001, whether you are filing locally or with the Secretary of State. In order to file a fixture filing, you still need the record owner's name and complete legal description.
KANSAS REGISTER OF DEEDS ASSOCIATION GUIDELINES
1. We will only accept the standardized UCC filing forms. (National UCC filing form) All others will be rejected.
2. Documents presented for filing must be presented in the proper medium.
3. Filing fees must accompany document. Payment must be made by check or cash. See fee schedule.
4. Document will be rejected if it cannot be properly indexed.
a. We must have one complete debtor's name and address and one complete secured party's name and address. If multiple names and addresses are given, the UCC filing will be indexed only to the parties with complete or legible information.
b. Failure to provide all information necessary to file the document. In the case of an assignment, failure to provide a name or address of the assignee would be a cause for rejection.
5. No searches will be done by telephone. We will only accept written requests using the new national form.
6. Mechanics Liens and Tax Liens will still be filed at the county level using the old fee schedule.
New Fees -- Effective July 1, 2001
$15.00 Original financing statement
$15.00 Amended financing statement
$15.00 Continuation statement
$15.00 Financing statement indicating assignment
$15.00 Assignment of financing statement
$15.00 Statement of release of all or a part of any collateral described in filed financing statement
$15.00 Real estate mortgage subject to KSA 84-9-402(6) FIXTURE FILING
$15.00 Termination statement
$1.00 Attachments, per page (after first ten pages, which are included in initial fee)
$15.00 Written information request, PER debtor name
$1.00 Copy request: a copy of any filed financing statement (per page)
If you file electronically with the state, it is less expensive. Visit the Kansas Secretary of State web site for their fees and guidelines. When filing at the county level you will need to submit the original and at least one copy if you wish to receive an acknowledgement copy with your file number.